You are currently viewing Nobel Prize in Physics  awarded to Soukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Georgio Parisi…

Nobel Prize in Physics awarded to Soukuro Manabe, Klaus Hasselmann and Georgio Parisi…

Nobel Prize in Physics : STOCKHOLM, Oct 5 (AP) Three scientists from Japan, Germany and Italy have been selected for this year’s Nobel Prize in Physics.

Soukuro Manabe (90) and Germany’s Klaus Hasselmann (89) have been chosen for their work in the fields of ‘physical ‘modeling’ of the Earth’s climate, measurement of the variability and accuracy of forecasts of global warming. Georgio Parisi (73) has been chosen for the second part of the award.

He has been chosen for his ‘discovery of the interaction of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary parameters’. The jury said Manabe and Hasselman “laid the foundation for our knowledge of the Earth’s climate and the impact of humans on it”. Manabe had shown in the early 1960s how global temperatures would increase as the amount of carbon dioxide in the atmosphere increased, and thus laid the foundation for existing climate models.

About a decade later, Hasselman created a model that combined weather and climate. This helped to understand how climate models can be valid despite the rapidly changing nature of the weather. He also discovered ways to detect specific signs of man’s influence on the climate. Parisi created an in-depth physical and mathematical model that made complex systems easy to understand. After the announcement of the awards, Parisi said, “There is a great need that we take very tough decisions and move very fast to tackle climate change.” He said, “The message for future generations is that We have to work now.”

The names of the winners were announced on Tuesday by Göran Hansson, general secretary of the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences. It is common for more than one scientist working in a related field of a discipline to be given awards in a shared manner. The prestigious award carries a gold medal and a sum of 10 million Swedish kronor (over $11.4 million).

The prizes were established in 1895 by Swedish citizen Alfred Nobel. The Nobel Prize Committee on Monday announced the awarding of the Nobel Prize in medicine to American citizens David Julius and Ardum Patapusian. The names of Nobel laureates in the fields of chemistry, literature, peace and economics will be announced in the coming days.


Thank You

Leave a Reply